About Me – Jerica Breen

Greeting! My name is Jerica Breen, I am student at UW-Stout working on my second Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering. My first Bachelor’s was in Athletic Training from UW-Eau Claire. When I got into the working world of athletic training I realized that I was building new braces and equipment in my head and understood then that I needed to be a part of research and development. My goal is to work with prosthetics in the future. I don’t know what I will be doing school-wise in the future because I have a bit of a unique background, I love the idea of getting a master’s or PhD in prosthetics, but if I can get to where I want to be without additional schooling, I would appreciate the break from the classroom.

What I hope to get out of this research opportunity is to broaden my base of study and get my feet wet working with other engineers of a different focus. So far in my past research and projects I have only worked with someone who was of the same major as myself and I’m excited to work my group members of different scientific fields.

When I’m not dreaming about prosthetics, I like to spend time with my husband and puppy dog (12 year-old chocolate lab, but you know they are always puppies). I enjoy many outdoor sports, backpacking, crocheting, sewing, painting, and not eating the edge pieces of brownies.brownie thief...

Leave a Reply

