About Me – Ryan

rowing

Hello all! My name is Ryan – I’m 21 years old and I live in Laguna Hills, California (in between LA and San Diego). I’m a rising senior at Lafayette College, and I will be earning a degree in Mechanical Engineering with a math minor. My primary extracurricular activity at Lafayette is the crew team – I’ve been rowing since my junior year of high school and I couldn’t be more in love with the sport! I’m also a member of the outdoors society, and have always had a passion for hiking, backpacking, and camping.

I applied for this REU because I’ve always been very interested in robotics and it seemed like an awesome opportunity to gain more exposure in the field. I’m hoping to really get inspired with the work I do this summer, as well as get a better idea of what I might want to study in grad school. Since I’m somewhat of a newbie to the field of robotics, I anticipate that I’ll be doing a whole lot of learning this summer as well, and I can’t wait to get started!

In the future, I plan on pursuing a PhD in grad school, perhaps in the fields of soft robotics or prosthetics.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s