About Me – Evan Weiler

Hi! My name is Evan Weiler. I’m from Claremont, California. This fall I am going to be a junior in Computer Engineering at the University of Arizona in Tucson. Some of my biggest passions include baseball, aviation, and technology. I try to apply these passions in various activities that I participate in on and off campus such as the Science of Baseball, one of my favorite clubs and the one I am most proud to be a part of. When I’m not doing school work you can catch me biking, watching a baseball game, or hanging out with friends.

I first heard about the REU program when my friend recommended I apply to one. Because of my interest in robotics, I decided to look specifically into REU programs relating to that field. I came across the program at the University of Wisconsin-Stout and thought it was a great opportunity, so I decided to apply. Now that I’ve learned what the subject material is, I’m even more excited. I love using the power of engineering to better the everyday lives of people. That is one thing that I hope to get out of the REU experience; a sense of accomplishment and confirmation that I could help someone with the work I did. I also hope to simply get experience in the field of robotics and to fine tune my skills in using FPGA boards and the Verilog programming language.

When I graduate college I plan on going into industry to apply what I’ve learned over the previous four years. I would love to be hired at a company that pertains to one of my passions, whether it be in aviation or in baseball. Working at a company like Honeywell, Raytheon, or Boeing would be a dream come true. Despite this, I would not rule out graduate school. We will see!

6WSxQSn[1]

Leave a Reply

